Family Excursions

Join us for one of our interactive, hands-on nature programs:

The Center has been conducting such programs since 1969 and each year we provide programming for over 30,000
children to help create better informed and more active stewards for our natural environment.

Select a Naturalist-guided expedition:

Seagrass Adventure

Register today for a Family Seagrass Adventure, the perfect activity for your family and friends.
Everyone will get excited with our catch and release program; exploring the shallow seagrass beds and identifying marine life.

Dates and times fill up quickly. $15 per person.  Register today

Saturday, June 15, 2024, 10 am – Noon
Sunday, July 14, 2024, 10 am – Noon
Sunday, August 4, 2024, 3 pm – 5 pm
Sunday, September 29, 2024, 1 pm – 2 pm
Saturday, October 12, 2024, 10 am – Noon
Saturday, October 26, 2024, 11 am – 1 pm
Sunday, November 10, 2024, 10 am – Noon
Sunday, November 24, 2024, 10 am – Noon
Thursday, December 26, 2024, 11 am – 1 pm
Friday, December 27, 2024, 12 pm – 2 pm
Saturday, December 28, 2024, 1 pm – 3 pm

To schedule a private group, minimum 10 people or $150, please Email Reservations@biscaynenaturecenter.org

Hike the Hammock at the Bearcut Preserve

Embark on a hike through the hammock at the Bearcut Preserve guided by a Naturalist.  Learn about the native and non-native plants and animals that inhabit these unique South Florida ecosystems. Spot butterflies resting on flowers, sleepy raccoons in the canopy, and ospreys soaring overhead. Binoculars provided.

Dates and times fill up quickly. $15 per person.  Register today

Saturday, September 21, 2024, 9:30 am -11:30 am
Sunday, October 6, 2024, 9:30 am -11:30 am
Sunday, November 3, 2024, 9:30 am -11:30 am
Saturday, December 7, 2024, 9:30 am -11:30 am
Sunday, December 15, 2024, 9:30 am -11:30 am

Preparation for Your Visit

Every participant must complete and sign a Marjory Stoneman Douglas Biscayne Nature Center release form.

What to Wear

  • Closed-toe shoes are required for all of our programs!
  • Clothes & shoes will definitely get wet during Seagrass Adventures. Bring a complete change of dry clothes, shoes, and a towel.

What to Bring

  • Packed lunch
  • Reusable water bottle
  • Reef-safe sunscreen
  • Bug spray & a hat

Reduce Plastic

  • Be mindful of single-use plastic products! Many of the plastics that we use once end up in our oceans.
  • By 2050, there could be more plastic than fish in the ocean! The future depends on us.